The Mayday Fund
A Call to Revolutionize Chronic Pain Care in America An Opportunity in Health Care Reform

Selected Signatories

View all signatories ►Alliance of State Pain Initiatives

American Academy of Family Physicians

American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine

American Academy of Neurology

American Academy of Pain Management

American Academy of Pain Medicine

American Academy of Pediatrics

American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

American Chronic Pain Association

American College of Emergency Physicians

American Health Care Association

American Nurses Association

American Pain Foundation

American Pain Society

American Pharmacists Association

American Psychosocial Oncology Society

American Society for Pain Management Nursing

American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics

American Society of Pain Educators

Association of Oncology Social Work

Association of Professional Chaplains

Center for Practical Bioethics

Center to Advance Palliative Care

Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International Center for Nursing Excellence in Long-Term Care

International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care

International Psycho-Oncology Society

National Association of Social Workers

National Palliative Care Research Center

Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy Syndrome Association

The HealthCare Chaplaincy

Southern California Cancer Pain Initiative

The Joint Commission

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization

The Mayday Fund Special Committee on Pain and the Practice of MedicineCommittee Co-Chairs:
Russell K. Portenoy, MD
Chair, Department of Pain Medicine & Palliative Care, Beth Israel Medical Center
Professor of Neurology & Anesthesiology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Lonnie Zeltzer, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Anesthesiology, Psychiatry & Biobehavioral Sciences, David Geffen School of Medicine, and Director, Pediatric Pain Program, Mattel Children’s Hospital, UCLA
Associate Director, Patients & Survivors Program, UCLA Jonsson Cancer Center

Committee Members:

James N. Campbell, MD
Professor of Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins University

Nancy Eksterowicz, RN, BC, MSN
Immediate Past President, American Society for Pain Management Nursing

Scott M. Fishman, MD
President & Board Chair, American Pain Foundation
Chief, Division of Pain and Professor of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, University of California, Davis

Sandra Fitzler
Senior Director of Clinical Services, American Health Care Association

Kathleen M. Foley, MD
Attending Neurologist, Pain & Palliative Care Service and Chief, Pain Service, Department of Neurology, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Professor of Neurology, Neuroscience & Clinical Pharmacology, Cornell University Medical College

Rollin M. Gallagher, MD, MPH
President, American Academy of Pain Medicine
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry & Anesthesiology, Director for Pain Policy Research & Primary Care,
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Carmen R. Green, MD
Professor of Anesthesiology and Obstetrics & Gynecology, University of Michigan School of Medicine
Associate Professor of Health Management & Policy, University of Michigan School of Public Health

Constance S. Houck, MD
Chair, Section on Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, American Academy of Pediatrics
Senior Associate in Perioperative Anesthesia, Children’s Hospital of Boston

Bill McCarberg, MD
Founder, Chronic Pain Management Program, Kaiser Permanente San Diego
Adjunct Assistant Clinical Professor, University of California, San Diego

Patrick McGrath, OC, PhD
Vice President, Research, IWK Health Centre
Professor of Psychology, Pediatrics & Psychiatry, Dalhousie University

Anne Louise Oaklander, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School
Assistant in Pathology (Neuropathology), Massachusetts General Hospital

Steven D. Passik, PhD
Associate Attending Psychologist, Department of Psychiatric & Behavioral Sciences,
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Associate Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry, Cornell University Medical College

Lisa Robin
Senior Vice President, Member Services, Federation of State Medical Boards

Will Rowe
Chief Executive Officer, American Pain Foundation

Seddon R. Savage, MD, MS
President-Elect, American Pain Society
Director, Dartmouth Center on Addiction, Recovery & Education
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Dartmouth Medical School
Pain Consultant, Manchester VA Medical Center

Mary Jean Schumann, MSN, MBA, RN, CPNP
Chief Programs Officer, American Nurses Association

Knox H. Todd, MD, MPH
Director, Pain and Emergency Medicine Institute, Beth Israel Medical Center
Professor of Emergency Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Peter VanPelt, RPh
Senior Manager, Corporate Alliances, American Pharmacists Association

Gary A. Walco, PhD
Director of Pain Medicine, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Professor of Anesthesiology, University of Washington College of Medicine

Robert A. Wise, MD
Vice President, Division of Standards and Survey Methods, The Joint Commission

View the Special Committee's Recommendations:
  • Recomendation 1
  • Recomendation 2
  • Recomendation 3
  • Recomendation 4
  • Recomendation 5
  • Recomendation 6
  • Recomendation 7
  • Recomendation 8
  • Recomendation 9
  • Recomendation 10
  • Recomendation 11
  • Recomendation 12